Liberal Club View all Political

Established in 1933, the Sydney University Liberal Club (SULC) is the oldest and largest Liberal Club in Australia. The Club hosts the annual John Howard Debating Cup, an intervarsity debating competition, in honour of the Club Patron, the Honourable John Howard OM AC. A strong alumni engages with the Club and includes John Howard, Tony Abbott, Joe Hockey, Malcolm Turnbull, Bronwyn Bishop, and Philip Ruddock. The Club releases an annual magazine, Turning Point, engages in student election campaigns, hosts public debates, social drinks, and pub crawls.